Classical Sass

(282) Closure

Leave a comment

The Wanderer Above the Sea of Fog, by Caspar David, Friedrich

The texts rolled across my screen, words of prior hurt and helplessness swarming my eyes and teasing my lungs. I replied, steadily, casually, thoughtfully. I watched the expectation, misplaced and twisted as it ever was, fill my long cleared life. I felt my mood falter, my bearing shift.

I finished the conversation, I put the phone down. I wandered to the kitchen, made coffee. I filed back to my laptop and shuffled towards today’s work. I sat in front of the screen and wondered if I’d cry, and then I realized

I didn’t want to.

I didn’t have the tears, I didn’t have the care.

I remembered the hurt and the ugliness like the knotted tumored choking clarity they were, but I didn’t feel them. I read them as I read my hunger before a meal or my fatigue during a run; real and tangible and utterly done.

I went about my business, my hand clasped around my closure, its tiny fragile fingers lightly curled around my thumb. I left that conversation angry about a wound I thought had closed, its unseen edges troublesome.

But what angered me was the memory of that slimy judgment stamped across my lack of forgiveness 
A stamp that I expunged 
into the abyss of inconsequential where it so truly belongs.

What saddened me was the reminder

And as soon as it was done 
I left it

In my cavern of wrongs

Closure snuck so quietly, in fairy footsteps next to me, I forgot to listen for it.
I hadn’t realized it’d been with me all along.

Leave a Reply

